Paula Stokes: the vitreous quality of color

Paula Stokes recently discussed her upcoming show Intersection which opens at Shift Studio this Thursday, June 2, 5:30-8pm, part of the First Thursday Artwalk.  Stokes’ print work shows the influence of glass sculpture; she’ll be showing recent work at the Shift show through the month of June.

Paula Stokes, Metamorphosis, 2010

Stokes on glass and monoprints:

Both mediums are equally strong to me. I began as a glass major but discovered printmaking later.

I found a certain freedom in printmaking that I could not express in glassmaking. It was only after immersing myself in printmaking that I found the inspiration to translate some of my ideas into glass. The relationship between the two is important to me, and for me, gives the glass sculpture relevance.

The combo is beautiful–especially in the vitreous quality of colors.

Shift is located at 306 S. Washington, in the gallery floor upstairs.  

This entry was posted in New shows and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

